International Association of Classification Societies (IACS)

The International Association of Classification Societies, commonly referred to as IACS, is made up of 10 organizations. The purpose of  IACS is to set the maritime standards for vessels with regards to design and structure. To gain a better understanding of which classification society applies to you, it is advisable to consult with an industry professional or consultancy firm.

For more information on IACS, please click on the following link to view our Classification Societies page, or Contact Us.

Scope of IACS

There are 50 classification society organizations located internationally that provide the technical standards for the design, structure and construction of vessels. Only 10 of these 50 classification societies make up the International Association of Classification Societies (IACS).

The ten aforementioned classification societies together with one additional classification society make up the IACS as follows:

ABS – American Bureau of Shipping

BV – Bureau Veritas

CCS – China Classification Society

DNV – Det Norske Veritas

GL – Germanischer Lloyd

KR – Korean Register of Shipping

LR – Lloyds Register

NK – Nippon Kaiji Kyokai

RINA – Registro Italiano Navale

RS – Russian maritime Register

IRS – Indian Register of Shipping

Depending on the location of your vessel and where you intend to register it, the design, construction, and structural standards that must be met will vary. Essentially, the relevant standards are set by classification society in your country of domicile. When a vessel has been constructed and designed in strict compliance with the standards set by the relevant classification society, a certificate is sent to the vessel owner to show proof of standards being met.