Maritime security and the USCG

Maritime security is one of the principle focuses of the United States Coast Guard or USCG as it is more commonly referred to. Maritime security affects all vessels and vessel owners and users as it deals with the prevention of intentional damage to a vessel. Understanding the principles of focus of the USCG and the ways maritime security is achieved may be beneficial to know if you are a vessel owner.

For more information on the USCG or maritime security, please click on the following link to view our Marine Services section.

Maritime security explained

USCG is focused on maritime security to ensure that everything is done to prevent intentional damage to vessels through acts of subversion, terrorism or sabotage.

The US Coast Guard structures their maritime security efforts across three main types of security, namely; port security, vessel security and facility security. The US Coast Guard has the power and legal support to enforce high levels of maritime security through certain US Acts. The main acts enabling the USCG to enforce maritime security are;

– Espionage Act 1917
– Magnuson Act 1950
– Maritime Transportation Security Act 2002
– Ports and Waterways Safety Act 1972
– International Ship and Port Facility Security Code 2002
– IMO (International Maritime Organization)

The three areas of maritime security – port security, vessel security and facility security – are of extreme importance to vessel owners as it increases their confidence in owning and running vessels in a safe environment. Port security includes the security of everything within the boundaries of a port and will provide an appropriate plan to safeguard all port assets.

Vessel security is regulated by the Maritime Transportation Security Act 2002 and the International Ship and Port facility Security Code 2002. These regulations require all vessel owners to implement effective security measures for their vessel and designate security officers. Facility security is the security of any facility that is situated, in, on, under or adjacent to any waters under US jurisdictions. The types of facilities that are protected include but are not limited to; oil storage facilities and passenger vessel terminals.